Yogi assigns portfolios: Technical teaching for Jitin Prasada

A day after Uttar Pradesh’s Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath expanded his cabinet by inducting seven ministers, he awarded the technical education portfolio to Jitin Prasada, who had recently left Congress to join the BJP in power.

The charge of this department was with the CM since the death of Kamal Rani Varun, who died of Covid-19 last August.

Prasada, 47, the only Brahmin face and the only minister of ministerial rank in the latest expansion, was made a member of the Legislative Council on Sunday even after the swearing-in.

Among the six ministers of state, Paltu Ram (45) was given responsibility for Sainik Kalyan, Homeguards, Prantiya Raksha Dal and Nagrik Suraksha Department. The BJP deputy from the seat of Balrampur Sadar (reserved) is one of the two SC leaders included in the Cabinet. The other is Dinesh Khatik (45), who has been assigned Jal Shakti and the Flood Control Department. The BJP deputy from Hastinapur (reserved) Assembly seat in Meerut has been an active RSS worker.

CBO leader Sangeeta Balwant (42) – the only female expansion minister – has been put in charge of the cooperative department.

The other leader of the CBO, Dharamveer Prajapati, has been given the post of Minister of State for Industrial Development. The MLC is from Hathras in western UP.

Chhatrapal Singh Gangwar, 65, has been appointed MoS Revenue Ministry, while Sanjeev Kumar (41) is the new MoS (Social Welfare, SC / ST Welfare Department). The BJP deputy from Obra in Sonbhadra district, Kumar, is considered to have influence among the large Adivasi population in the region.