Singapore Expands Vaccinated Roadway Program to 8 More Countries

Singapore will expand its Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) program to eight other countries from October 19, allowing travelers fully vaccinated against Covid-19 to enter the city-state without having to self-quarantine, media report citing the civil aviation authority. said Saturday.

Fully vaccinated travelers from Canada, Denmark, France, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, UK and US will be able to enter Singapore under this deal starting October 19. , Channel News Asia reported, citing the Singapore Civil Aviation Authority (CAAS).

This expansion is being carried out in a “cautious and step-by-step” manner to help “reclaim and rebuild” Singapore’s status as an international aviation hub with global connectivity, the CAAS said.

“The vaccinated traffic lanes would restore non-quarantine travel in both directions between Singapore and the eight newly announced countries,” Transport Minister S Iswaran said at a press conference on Saturday.

This comes after “the experience and confidence gained” from the first two vaccinated traffic routes with Brunei and Germany, which were opened last month, the CAAS added.

Singapore had announced another VTL with South Korea on Friday, starting November 15.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong ruled out a full lockdown on Saturday, even as Singapore reported 3,590 infections on Friday, including 765 in migrant worker dormitories as well as six deaths.