Maharashtra: three corporators for each prabhag in the municipal elections of 2022

Ahead of next year’s municipal elections in the state, Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari issued an ordinance on Sunday amending the Maharashtra Municipal Corporation Act, under which each prabhag or panel will elect three corporations. The ruling will apply to all civic bodies in Maharashtra except Mumbai, where the “one neighborhood, one business” system will continue to be implemented.

Following the ordinance, the government of Maharashtra will notify the State Election Commission (SEC) to initiate the voting process for the three-company system by prabhag.

In promulgating the ordinance, the governor said: “In view of the Covid crisis in municipal areas, it was agreed that a multi-member room would help control the situation. Therefore, after reviewing the situation and streamlining the functioning of civic bodies, the government proceeded to amend the law. Each panel will elect three members and no less than two or more than four. Since the state legislature is not in effect at this time, the ordinance is being issued for the three-member panel system. “

Balasaheb Khandekar, who heads the electoral department of the Pimpri-Chinchwad Municipal Corporation (PCMC), said the SEC will ask civic bodies to demarcate borders based on the 2011 population census. “In addition, he will decide to the reservation in the panels and the updating of the electoral list after which the civic bodies will enter into action “, he added.

Khandekar told the PCMC that one panel will elect two corporations while the other 42 will elect three corporations. “However, the number of companies at 128 will remain the same,” he said.

Corporal Asha Shengge said, “I was elected last year when four corporations were elected from one panel. In 2017, PCMC had 32 prabhags. In 2002, the three-company panel system was in place, which will now be back for the 2022 election. ”

The government’s decision came despite vehement opposition from the State Congress to the system.

Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) head Nana Patole said Congress would continue to “democratically oppose” the three-member panel system. The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), which had also opposed the system, has now decided to accept the government’s decision. Shiv Sena’s support for the system is evident with Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, who is also the leader of Sena, giving it his final endorsement.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP Laxman Jagtap said, “Whether one member is elected or three, it will not make any difference to the BJP. We will have more corporations than (we had in) the 2017 election. ”

In 2017, the BJP seized power from the PCMC by overthrowing the NCP. It was the BJP’s first victory since the first PCMC elections in 1986. After all subsequent elections until 2017, either Congress or the PCN had led the civic body.

Parliamentarian Sena Shrirang Barne said: “The real position or equation will only become clear after the announcements of reservations for women, CBOs, SCs and STs are announced.

Barne said the Sena would do much better than the last election. As for the alliance with the NCP, Barne said the party leadership will take a final call in this regard.

The Aam Aadmi (AAP) party, which will challenge the polls of the Pune Municipal Corporation (PMC) and the PCMC for the first time, has strongly opposed the three-company panel system. “In a ward with several members, it becomes difficult to determine responsibility. For small parties in particular, the system is disastrous. We are in favor of “one district, one corporator”, which is in line with the constitutional provision, ”said Mukund Kirdat, Pune president for AAP.

Former Mayor Yogesh Behl, also a member of the PCMC, said: “The three-member panel will now change the boundaries. It is in the interests of voters and candidates.

Welcoming the government’s decision, PCN Pimpri-Chinchwad leader Sanjog Waghere said: “Due to corruption during the BJP rule, the PCN will return to the 2022 elections.”