IPL 2021: All eyes are on Indian stars as MI tackles optimistic RR

The Mumbai Indians mega-stars will make a final push to get their Indian Premier League campaign back on track when they face the confident Rajasthan Royals in their penultimate league game on Tuesday.

The five-time champions were aiming for a hat-trick, which would be a first in the tournament’s 14-year history, but poor show from their batsmen drove the team down. The wrinkles on Rohit Sharma’s forehead and the grumpy look on his face tell a story never before seen in the MI contingent so far.

And in that context, they now face the Royals of Rajasthan, who stunned the Chennai Super Kings with a superlative batting performance from two Mumbai men – Yashasvi Jaiswal and Shivam Dube.

The equation is simple for both teams.

They not only need to win both of their matches, but also to win big for their low net run rates to be taken care of.

The Royals currently have a net run-rate of -0.337 and MI, after a poor batting show against the Delhi Capitals, is seventh at -0.453.

Tuesday’s loser will be out of the tournament but KKR is already 14 points away with a positive NRR of +0.294.

Therefore, even if Mumbai win against Rajasthan and then crush the laggards Sunrisers Hyderabad in their final game to reach 14 points, there is no guarantee that they will be able to qualify.

KKR won a very crucial game against SRH and even though they lost to the Royals on the final day of the Championship stage, Morgan and his men would like to limit the damage in order to qualify for the play-offs.

Therefore, Rohit (341 points), Suryakumar Yadav (222 points), Quinton de Kock (297 points) and Kieron Pollard (232 points) must put forward their “A” game.

Hardik Pandya pretty much found a form for him. Sharjah’s field showed signs of calming down in the Punjab Kings v RCB game, which will delight MI racing players.

The Royals’ bowling offense, with Mustafizur Rahaman as the most experienced away signing, is a bit meager.

It remains to be seen how Chetan Sakariya, Mustafizur and the rest of the bowlers stop the heavy artillery fire expected from the Mumbai ranks.

Likewise, Jasprit Bumrah, along with Trent Boult and Rahul Chahar, will have their work cut out for them against the opening pair of Jaiswal and Evin Lewis, who literally slaughtered the Chennai attack that didn’t have Deepak Chahar and Dwayne Bravo. in their ranks.

Rajasthan Royals team: Sanju Samson (captain), Liam Livingstone, Evin Lewis, David Miller, Chris Morris, Oshane Thomas, Mustafizur Rahaman, Tabraiz Shamsi, Glenn Phillips, Chetan Sakariya, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Akash Singh, Anuj Rawat, KC Cariappa, Yashashvi Jaiswal , Shivam Dube, Shreyas Gopal, Kartik Tyagi, Mayank Markande, Jaydev Unadkat, Kuldip Yadav, Mahipal Lomror.

Mumbai Indian Team: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Aditya Tare, Anmolpreet Singh, Chris Lynn, Saurabh Tiwary, Anukul Roy, Simarjeet Singh, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, James Neesham, Jayant Yadav, Marco Pollard, Jansen , Yudhvir Singh, Adam Milne, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohsin Khan, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Piyush Chawla, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult.