BJP adds BSY’s son to Karnataka poll team after omitting him from initial list

A few days after omitting his name from a list of leaders who will be in charge of the party’s electoral campaign for the October 30 poll at the Hanagal assembly headquarters, the BJP added the name of BY Vijayendra on Monday evening, son of former chief minister of Karnataka BS Yediyurappa, on the list of 13 leaders.

Before Viyayendra’s name was added, Yediyurappa called on his supporters to refrain from expressing their anger at his son’s not being included in the list of those in charge of the polls. The list was released by the party on October 1.

Incidentally, Yediyurappa’s younger son was initially an aspirant for the Hanagal ticket but dropped out of the competition.

“Some of our karyakarthas (workers) have expressed their anger and anguish at my non-inclusion in the list of those responsible for the by-elections of Sindgi and Hanagal. My appeal to them: Please refrain from making comments that embarrass our party, our leaders or me, ”tweeted Vijayendra, who is vice president of the BJP on Monday.

Hanagal’s bypoll was necessitated by the death of veteran BJP leader CM Udasi – the mentor of Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai – while Sindgi’s bypoll was necessitated by the death of veteran JD (S) MC leader Managuli.

The BJP and Congress have yet to announce their candidates for the seats. While the BJP is expected to finalize the names on Wednesday, the state Congress sent the names of Srinivas Mane and Manohar Tahsildar for Hangal, and Ashok Managuli for Sindgi to the party’s high command to take the final appeal.

According to sources, at the BJP central committee meeting on Sunday, the candidates were shortlisted in the presence of Arun Singh, BJP Karnataka official.

According to a senior BJP official present at the meeting, former MP Ramesh Bhusanur became Sindgi’s favorite, while CM Udasi’s daughter-in-law Revathi Udasi became Hanagal’s favorite.

BJP general secretary CT Ravi said the shortlisted names for the two constituencies had been sent to the party’s central leadership.

While Hanagal is in Chief Minister Bommai’s home district, Haveri, in northern Karnataka, Sindgi is in the Bijapur region.

The bypolls are considered the first major test for Bommai since he became chief minister in July, replacing Yediyurappa.

Bommai expressed confidence that the BJP won both seats. “Hanagal has been our constituency while Sindgi is a strong JD (S), but trust me we are 100% sure to win both seats,” he said.

The JD (S) announced Naziya Shakeel Ahmed Angadi and Niyaz Shaikh as its candidates from Sindgi and Hanagal, respectively.